There is something about being thrown into unpredictable situations that makes you learn a great deal about yourself

” There is something about being thrown into unpredictable situations that makes you learn a great deal about yourself “

That quote sums up my experience thus far about being away from home in a new city.

Firstly, I have noticed that although I have an introverted exterior I am not actually afraid to do things or go places on my own. In fact I find that it can be more fun as you can fully immerse yourself in the experience rather than having to worry if the other people you are with are getting the same level of enjoyment as  you are. I have realised that you get more done this way, you go at your own pace; away from distractions and limitations. Nothing is worse than being with a moody people amidst a brilliant atmosphere. Also there’s always the element of surprise as to whether you’d meet someone who has the same enjoyments and understanding as you do.

” Experiencing life with no limitations. “

Secondly, it has been brought to my attention how best I learn. You would think a decade of studying and being through the educational system that I would have figured this out by now but when you are put through a -to a great extent- rigid system, there is little scope for self discovery.

In saying this though

a) I don’t really like working with other people but I do like working with other people. Confused ? I’ll break it down.

As much as I don’t like group work, I do enjoy discussing things with other people and noting down different perspectives. there is so much you can learn just by listening to what other people and to say. In saying this I prefer (in my own private space) to solely work on things; at my own pace away from distractions and with all my random notes and observations at the ready. The point where I am both most productive and happy.

and 

b) I prefer being visually stimulated; in other words attending lectures are not the high point of my day unless of course there is a video or demonstration thrown in somewhere which, if past lectures are to go by is a very slim chance. I like to visualise things and ‘see’ how they fit into the wider picture. Which I think probably ties into my temperament, as I am an individual who loves observing situations. From an argument between two opposing parties to a mother grocery shopping with her child; it’s just how I understand the world better. 

Leave a comment